Recipe Calories

March 7, 2010

Chocolate Bundles for 360 calories each

Filed under: Uncategorized — My Recipe Calories @ 1:27 am
Tags: , ,

You can generally tell how I am doing on my diet by the kinds of foods I post here. 🙂 Let’s call this week a wash, as these are not the most calorie friendly desserts that I have ever had.  However, when puff pastry and chocolate meet, there is never really a taste problem, you know?  When I saw Paula Deen make a version of these, I knew I had to try them.  I lightened them by using less chocolate than she did.  I imagine that hers (with not only more chocolate, but also more varieties of chocolate) are better, so if you want the real version, go here.

Chocolate Bundles 360 calories per every delicious bundle
           
4 servings          
  Calories per Total      
Ingredients serving Calories    
1 sheet puff pastry 1/6 sheet = 170 1020      
6 Tbs milk chocolate chips 1 Tbs = 70 420      
  Total calories = 1440      
Makes 4 bundles. 1 bundle = 360      

 

1) Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

2) Wet your counter a little bit, and put a piece of aluminum foil down.  (I learned this trick from my mom.  It saves you a lot of clean up later.)

3) Put 1 sheet of puff pastry down on the aluminum foil.  Cut the puff pastry into four equal pieces.

4) Put 1 ½ tablespoons of chocolate chips in the center of each piece of puff pastry.

5) Brush sides of puff pastry with egg wash or water.  Pull corners of puff pastry together, and secure together.  Make sure the bundle is securely together, because otherwise your chocolate will ooze out the way mine did. J  Brush with more egg wash if you feel like it.  Now, at this point, you could sprinkle some sugar on the top – this would add to the flavor, and also make it pretty.  (But make sure to add the calories to the total then.  Sugar is about 50 calories per tablespoon.  I’d say that one tablespoon total is all you need for all four pastries.)

6) Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.  Put your bundles on the parchment paper.  Bake for 25 – 30 minutes.

7) Enjoy!

1 Comment »

  1. MMMMMmmmm! I love you, Chocolate Bundles. I love you too, Molly. Thanks for the post.

    Comment by Sandra Cheng — March 7, 2010 @ 3:02 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

