Recipe Calories

April 12, 2010

Ham, Chicken, & Noodle Casserole for 350 per serving

Filed under: Uncategorized — My Recipe Calories @ 5:41 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Whenever I can, I try to cook up a casserole in the beginning of the week, and eat from that casserole every day for lunch.  It’s a hot lunch, it’s calorie-friendly, and it’s generally tastier and fresher than frozen meals.  This recipe is this week’s lunch for me.

This casserole is a weird mixture of ingredients, but they all seem to add a lovely overall flavor.  I never think to put cottage cheese together with ham and chicken.  But as weird as it is, it sure tastes good!  Of course, I love cottage cheese, so an excuse to mix it into anything is always good for me. 🙂  The cottage cheese kind of melted into the mixture, so if I didn’t tell you there is cottage cheese in it, you’d never know! 

I think I got the original recipe in one of my Yahoo recipe groups.  I changed it a bit to have a lot less noodles.  Also, I added broccoli.  I always try to add veggies into these casseroles so that I eat vegetables on a daily basis.  And let’s face it, veggies usually taste pretty good if they are in casserole form, so why not? 🙂

The other thing I try to do is use very few dishes.  I hate washing dishes, and that is why I generally make these casseroles in throw-away pans too.

Ham, Chicken, & Noodle Casserole 350 per serving
     
6 servings    
  Calories per Total
Ingredients serving Calories
about 2 lbs. frozen, chopped broccoli 3 oz. = 30 300
4 oz. egg noodles 2 oz. = 210 420
2 Tbs light whipped butter 1 Tbs = 50 100
1 onion 1 onion = 50 50
1 (9 oz.) package Oscar Mayer honey ham, chopped 1 serving = 50 250
9 oz. Tyson Diced chicken breast, chopped 3 oz. = 110 330
salt, onion powder, and celery salt (to taste) 0 0
1 cup light Sour Cream 2 Tbs = 40 320
1 cup 2% cottage cheese 1/2 c = 90 180
2 oz. grated reduced fat cheddar cheese 1 oz. = 80 160
     
  Total calories = 2110
  1/6 pan = 351.7

 

1) In a big glass bowl, microwave the broccoli for 25 minutes.  (I like it soft, not crisp-tender.)

2) While the broccoli is cooking, cook the egg noodles.  When done cooking, drain the egg noodles, and mix with the broccoli in the big bowl.

3) In the pot you cooked the noodles in, melt the butter and saute the onion until it’s a little bit browned.  Add the ham and cook until most of the water is cooked out of the ham.  Add the chicken, and cook for about a minute.  Turn the burner off.

4) Mix in the seasonings, sour cream, and cottage cheese.  Mix the cottage cheese mixture into the broccoli mixture.

5) Turn the oven on to 350 degrees.  Spray a 13×9 pan with olive oil spray.  Put the whole mixture into the pan, and bake for 15 minutes.

6) Put the grated cheddar cheese on top and cook for another 15 minutes.

7) Enjoy!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

